National Council for the Social Studies Curriculum Standards  (NCSS)

The Curriculum Standards for Social Studies were developed by a Task Force of the National Council for the Social Studies and approved by the NCSS Board of Directors in April 1994.

Ten Thematic Strands in Social Studies
   • Culture
   • Time, Continuity, and Change
   • People, Places, and Environment
   • Individual Development and Identity
   • Individuals, Groups, and Institutions
   • Power, Authority, and Governance
   • Production, Distribution, and Consumption
   • Science, Technology, and Society
   • Global Connections
• Civic Ideals and Practices
Copyright © Maryland Geographic Alliance


Geography Standards
Logo Maryland Geographic Alliance  
About Us
News & Events
Geography Standards
Teacher Resources
Contact Us